Thinking, Planning, and Gearing Up

Why is it so hard to create a new habit?

Things I want to do — try out more raw recipes, eat mostly raw vegan gluten-free food, have green juice every day or two, exercise almost every day…

Where I’m at — not planning meals, exercising once a week (i.e. when I remember), drinking coffee everyday, and both yesterday and today I drank pop *shame*

To give myself credit, I got a ton of exercise when I was in Chicago a few weeks ago, but since I’ve gotten home, it’s been when I remembered, and only because I felt obligated to do it. I want to enjoy exercising. I read in The Gabriel Method that when your body wants to lose weight, you will feel that you want to move. I felt that last November when I was eating 2/3 raw vegan, putting Vega in my breakfast fruit smoothie, and getting some exercise. I was at work, and was walking down the hall and all of the sudden, I really wanted to run down the hall. I almost couldn’t stop myself. I really wanted to move. I want to get to that point again.

I went back and re-read my blog posts from when I first started this blog… about planning and stacking the odds in my favor. I realize I’m still getting going, and that’s okay.

I need to take time to sit down and think about what I’m going to do with meals and exercising. It might be a slow process, but baby steps are okay πŸ˜‰

Also…

The Heart of Summer is tomorrow morning at Lake Nokomis! As I said in a recent post, this is going to be my kick-off toward the Couch to 5K. I’m walking the 5K version tomorrow because I’m two weeks out from a sprained ankle, but it’s going to be fun πŸ™‚ it amounts to a little more than a walk around the lake. I’ll post pictures for you tomorrow. The weather forecast says it’s supposed to rain, but *fingers crossed* hopefully it won’t. But they’ve been saying it’s going to rain for the past few days and it hasn’t, so we’ll see πŸ˜‰

Toodles!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

β€œNothing must be postponed. Take time by the forelock. Now or never! You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment.”

– Henry David Thoreau, on April 24, 1859

Leave a Reply

