Making Cupcakes

Hi~

WordPress has a new theme for blogs and I thought I would try this out. I like it 🙂 what do you think? I want to update the header though, more on that later.

Cupcakes

At work, we’re having a Halloween themed potluck tomorrow and I wanted to bring something fun and Halloween-y. I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com and thought “that’s the one!” A cupcake graveyard!

photo from the website

I was also curious about making cupcakes from scratch, and I remembered the Cupcake Throwdown episode of Throwdown with Bobby Flay and searched and searched on foodnetwork.com for this recipe for Red Velvet Cupcakes and this recipe beat Bobby Flay’s!

Photo from the website. Aren't they cute!?

So I wanted to try it and figured I could leave out the red food coloring and double the chocolate. I’ve never been one to prepare and prepare for a potluck so I can bring my best, but the Halloween idea was so fun, I wanted to go all out.

Target was having a sale on Betty Crocker cake mix, so I got a few boxes of Chocolate Fudge cake mix for the boxed mix trials, and got the ingredients for the red velvet cupcakes. My poor Mom and Uncle had to taste test.

Trial One: Betty Crocker Chocolate Fudge cupcakes from the box

Sorry there are no pictures of the prep. This is the final result:

my poor cupcake

That smudge of orange sparkle glitter decorating sugar gel originally said “RIP” with a wavy squiggle underneath it, but when I set it right side up, it all went down. Sorry the photo is so blurry. The black crumbly stuff is crumbled up Oreo cookies, and I put purple and orange sprinkles on top. I kind of went crazy getting Halloween cupcake stuff at Target. I got fun cupcake paper cups, they’re black and say Trick or Treat on the bottom. And I got sprinkles and little purple and black ghost confetti for the bottom of the tray to serve them on. Fun!

Trial Two: Red Velvet (from scratch)

I’ve never made cake mix from scratch before. It was like an adventure. I was so excited.

The ingredients

All mixed up

 

Fresh out of the oven

 

The Verdict…

My Mom and Uncle (and I) like the boxed mix so much better. I didn’t even frost the ones I made from scratch 😦 it was so sad. The only thing I can think of that might have affected them is that the recipe called for the flour and sugar in dry ounces, and I don’t have a food scale so I found a few helpful websites (Cook’s Illustrated and this one) that gives you conversion equivalents for dry ounces to cups. One website said that flour measures differently in ounces than it does in cups. I guess baking is really touchy. They turned out more like muffins than cupcakes and tasted like a very subtle mix between chocolate and vanilla, but more on the vanilla side.

And then today, I found out that the team I’m on is responsible for appetizers and lunch items, so I may not bring cupcakes at all. Sad!

And a little update on the C25K~

I planned to stop at the gym on the way home from work last night to do my first session of C25K training, but we had a bad storm and I thought I better drive home and get the new car in the garage. I was really disappointed. We had a wind advisory, with rain and wind gusts of 50+ mph, and the wind chill made it feel like it was in the low 30s. Then I realized, I’m going to be in Japan for a week and might not be able to exercise, so I’m going to start the C25K when I get back. I think I’ll get a lot of walking in when I’m in Japan, so that will help prepare me for the increased exercise when I get back.

Have a great day!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.”

– Anais Nin

Leave a Reply

