They’re not burnt, they’re toasted

I tried making tortilla chips! I found a recipe and thought I’d try it out.

The recipe said to cut the corn tortillas into quarters and place them in a single layer on a cookie sheet. Spray it with non-stick cooking spray and dust with salt.

Preheat the oven to 350 and pop em in. After 10 minutes, turn the sheet around and let them bake for another 10 minutes. Clearly, another 10 minutes was just a little too long. Heh. They came out a little… dark. They smelled like they were burning, so I opened the oven to look and said, “they’re not burnt. They’re toasted!”

They look like pita chips.

And they tasted like a hard, crisp, corn chip.

So I tried a 2nd batch and they came out much better! They were great. They have a freshness that reminds me of… freshly made chips. Hehe. They’re a little thick, but they taste better than store-bought chips and you can control how much salt you want. You could try any seasoning you want.

And I learned a little bit better how to use the macro lens.

And you can see someone ought to take down the Christmas tree… but I like having it lit šŸ˜‰

By the way, I still feel great from that dance workout on Sunday. Man šŸ™‚ who knew cardio could be so great? It was a great jump start and it’s been helping me make healthier choices in general. I’ve been getting a better sleep and eating healthier food. I’ve also quit drinking Coke! I usually try to stay away from pop, but when I got sick in January, the only thing I could keep down was Coke and I kept drinking it after I got better because I didn’t want to get the caffeine headache. But I think the caffeine withdrawal headache melded into the exercise/detox headache from Sunday, and I’ve been fine ever since.

Dancing made me realize how important it is to have fun exercising. I do so much more when I’m having fun than when I’m dragging myself through it.

One comment on “They’re not burnt, they’re toasted

Leave a Reply

