Weekend Recap

Hi folks!

Happy President’s Day ๐Ÿ™‚

To recap on the weekend, it wasn’t too eventful but I had a few firsts! I went to the gym for the first time in months. I got on the elliptical machine and it kicked my ass after a minute, but I stayed on for almost 20 minutes and burned 130 calories. ๐Ÿ™‚

Also, I made chai from scratch for the first time yesterday. It’s SO good! I don’t think I can go back to buying it already made. I was talking with my friends on Friday night and one of my dear friends talked about making chai from scratch. I knew I had to try it and she referred me to the recipe on the Whole Foods website: Homemade Chai. I made it and was in bliss. It’s sooo good. I can never go back to buying it. It tastes fresher and has more depth of flavor from the whole spices and the tea, and it smells soooo good when it’s on the stove. I used loose leaf English Breakfast tea from India that I got at the Co-op nearby. Also, I realized spice and tea are so much cheaper to buy in bulk and it’s fresher… at least at the Co-op I go to. I just got a little bit of each and it was so much cheaper. If I got it at a regular grocery store, each spice would cost so much more. What tends to happen with me when I buy spices is I never use it all and end up having to throw most away after a year. Anyway, I’m so excited to try different chai recipes soon ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great holiday!

UPDATE:ย  I forgot to mention I made Sandwich Sushi on Saturday! The recipe is here from a great website that I like a lot called GreenLiteBites. It was pretty good! All her recipes look like they are really good and she has a cookbook out now. I’d love to get it someday.

Now I’m off to make pumpkin muffins ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

