I Ran. Yup I did :)

Hi!

Seems like I get the most hits on my blog when I haven’t posted in a while. šŸ˜‰

I’ve been wanting to start the C25K lately, and had the worst time sleeping last week. The earliest I was able to fall asleep was 2am, sometimes 3. So on Friday, I went to the gym at around 7pm. Working out at night really helped me get a good sleep.

I decided to keep an exercise diary. Here’s an excerpt from day one, 5/6/11 —

Dear Diary,

I ran today! I ran. I had a hard day, and I’ve been wanting to go to the gym all week. I’ve been so busy, I haven’t had time, but my plans tonight changed. I haven’t been sleeping well either. The prospect of doing day 1 of C25K training was daunting, and I just wasn’t super excited. But as I was driving to the gym, I decided I’d see how it goes once I get there. Even if I just walked, it would be better than nothing. I got on the treadmill and started walking at 2.5 speed. It was going pretty good. I decided to walk 5 minutes. Then I decided to try a set of running for 1 minute, walking for 2. And I ran for 1 minute at 5.0. I RAN! I kept looking at the timer thinking “I can do it! This is going to get much better” and I envisioned myself running free…. and I made it through another 4 sets for a total of 5 sets of running for 1 minute and walking for 2 minutes. I did a 5 minute cool down of relaxed walking. I was so happy and proud of myself. It crossed my mind that on my days off training, I should still go to the gym to walk 30 minutes or something, to make going to the gym a healthy habit.

Totals =

5 minute walk

5 sets: 1 minute running, 2 minutes walking

5 minute walk

Burned over 100 calories. Yeah man šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

