Live Based On Your Own Best

Looking back is one of the most effective ways to motivate yourself. Looking ahead is even better. What do I want my future to be? What do I want my life to be like right now?

It’s no secret that a lot of people motivate themselves by comparing themselves with others. They look at people around them and think, “is she skinnier than me?” “Is she prettier than me?” “I wish I was like that.”

I’d like to think that sometimes this helps people bring out their best and motivates them to improve their lives. More often than not, it probably reinforces negative beliefs and reminds them that they’re not how they want to be.

The danger of this is that in that moment, their personal best is dependent on whoever or whatever happens to be around. What kind of life is that? Looking around just leaves you standing where you started.

It’s better to envision the life you want and take your own action to get there. At the end of the day, it’s better to feel satisfied with the effort you made that day.

Leave a comment